Spiritualized Return with 'And Nothing Hurt,' Share Two New Songs

The new album marks the band's first in six years
Spiritualized Return with 'And Nothing Hurt,' Share Two New Songs
After first making mention of an eighth studio album back in 2016, Spiritualized are set to return with a new full-length later this summer, marking the group's first album in six years.

Titled And Nothing Hurt, the album is set to arrive September 7 through Fat Possum/Bella Union. Nine tracks in length, the album follows the group's 2012 effort Sweet Heart Sweet Light.

Ahead of release, the band have shared a pair of tracks from the LP titled "A Perfect Miracle" and "I'm Your Man." The latter also arrives alongside a video, directed by Juliette Larthe. You can watch the clip and hear both songs in the players below.

As frontman Jason Pierce explained a press release, he recorded the entire disc alone at his home in London:

Making this record on my own sent me more mad than anything I've done before. We'd been playing these big shows and I really wanted to capture that sound we were making but, without the funds to do, I had to find a way to work within the constraints of what money I had. So I bought a laptop and made it all in a little room in my house…

The biggest thing for me was to try to make it sound like a studio session. There are bits that I went to a studio to record — mainly drums and percussion. I mean, there's no way I'm going to get timpani up my stairs. When I came to terms with how I was going to make the record, I assumed it was going to sound like Lee Perry — all flying in from different angles; all extraordinary and not hi-tech in construction. But I was new to it all, I didn't have all the short cuts people use when they're making records — I just sat there for weeks… for months… moving every level up bit by bit just to try to get the sounds right…

With a bit of trial and lot of error, I found ways of doing something that's quite simple, if you've got the resources. I spent two weeks listening to classical records and strumming the chord that I wanted on my guitar. When I found something to match what I wanted, I'd sample that bit and go for the next chord and try to match that. It took weeks, trying to put together and layer convincing string sounds. But, if I'm honest, all I wanted was for someone to come and play the part and bring their own thing to the record.

That's the album cover above, while the tracklist is below. The album is available for pre-order on standard black and deluxe orange vinyl via MusicVaultz.

And Nothing Hurt:

1. A Perfect Miracle
2. I'm Your Man
3. Here It Comes (The Road) Let's Go
4. Let's Dance
5. On the Sunshine
6. Damaged
7. The Morning After
8. The Prize
9. Sail on Through