Spiritualized, Beach House, Jesu, Youth Lagoon Team Up for Space-Themed Compilation

Spiritualized, Beach House, Jesu, Youth Lagoon Team Up for Space-Themed Compilation
Earlier this week, Trevor Powers shared a new song from his Youth Lagoon moniker called "Worms." We were told that it was set to appear on a new compilation called The Space Project. Now, more details from the release have emerged.

In addition to Youth Lagoon, the album will feature contributions from Porcelain Raft, the Antlers, Spiritualized (appearing as the Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program), Blues Control, Beach House, Absolutely Free, Jesu and more.

The record utilizes samples that were recorded by the Voyager 1 and 2 space probes. A press release clarifies that "the 'sounds' recorded by the Voyager probes aren't sounds in the conventional sense; rather, they are electromagnetic radiation fluctuations in the magnetosphere of the planets, moons, and large asteroids the Voyager probes travelled near. Each celestial body is composed of different elements, has its own size and mass, and therefore sounds unique."

The Space Project will hit shelves on April 19, just in time for Record Store Day, via Lefse Records. The album will be available on 12-inch vinyl, CD and as a 7-inch box set.

Check out the tracklisting for The Space Project below, which is broken up into themed 7-inches.

The Space Project:


A. Porcelain Raft: "Giove"

B. The Antlers: "Jupiter"


A. Mutual Benefit: "Terraform"

B. Anna Meredith: "Miranda"


A. The Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program: "Always Together With You (The Bridge Song)"

B. The Holydrug Couple: "Amphitrites Lost" 


A. Youth Lagoon: "Worms"

B. Blues Control: "Blues Danube"


A. Beach House: "Saturn Song"

B. Zomes: "Moonlet"


A. Absolutely Free: "EARTH I"

B. Jesu: "Song of Earth"


A Benoit & Sergio: "Long Neglected Words"

B Larry Gus: "Sphere of Io (For Georg Cantor)"