Sonic Youth Treat 'Bad Moon Rising' to Expanded Vinyl Reissue

Sonic Youth Treat 'Bad Moon Rising' to Expanded Vinyl Reissue
What with Kim Gordon's new Girl in a Band memoir having hit book shelves earlier this week, it's as good a time as any for Sonic Youth to bring their Bad Moon Rising back to vinyl.

As a press release reveals, Sonic Youth's sophomore set is being re-released on LP and CD on April 14 through the band's own Goofin imprint. The album had originally been delivered via Homestead/Blast First in 1985 and was later reissued on CD by Geffen in 1995. The last vinyl pressing of Bad Moon Rising was delivered via ORG Music/Universal in 2011.

The eight-song LP was marked by the group's still-developing, post-no wave assault of feedback, noise and fractured melody. Guitarist Lee Ranaldo had previously described the album as an examination of "the junction where hippie idealism [meets] the cold hard world," with this juxtaposition further exploring the ties between "musicians, murderers, heroes and villains." The album's haunted and harrowing closing cut, "Death Valley '69," has guitarist Thurston Moore howling and moaning lines alongside no wave legend Lydia Lunch.

The new pressing of the Bad Moon Rising also comes with a handful of bonus cuts. It features sound collages "Satan Is Boring" and "Echo Canyon," as well as both tracks from 1986's "Flower"/"Halloween" 12-inch. While the songs had previously been bundled together with Bad Moon Rising on DGC's mid-90s CD re-release, this will be the first time they're packaged together on vinyl. You'll find the full tracklisting info down below.

Bad Moon Rising:

1. Intro
2. Brave Men Run (In My Family)
3. Society Is a Hole
4. I Love Her All the Time
5. Ghost Bitch
6. I'm Insane
7. Justice Is Might
8. Death Valley '69 (ft. Lydia Lunch)
9. Satan Is Boring
10. Flower
11. Halloween
12. Echo Canyon