Sonic Youth Give 'EVOL' Vinyl Reissue

Sonic Youth Give 'EVOL' Vinyl Reissue
Little by little, Sonic Youth's Goofin imprint has been bringing the noise-saturated back catalogue back to vinyl. With an expanded wax edition of Bad Moon Rising due in stores tomorrow (April 14), the alternative icons have now revealed that the next reissue to arrive will be follow-up effort EVOL.

A press release explains that the latest pressing of the group's third full-length will be out on LP on July 21. It also arrives on CD.

The 1986 LP is notable for being the first full-length to feature drummer Steve Shelley, who replaced Bob Bert. The collection was cut at Brooklyn's Before Christ studios with producer Martin Bisi (Swans, Cop Shoot Cop, Helmet), and brought the band towards a more melodic direction than their no wave and noise rock beginnings. Key tracks include the haunting "Starpower," "Shadow of a Doubt," and the exploratory psych-noise piece "Expressway to Yr. Skull."

The LP also includes a collaboration with Lydia Lunch, who co-wrote "Marilyn Moore" with Sonic Youth guitarist/vocalist Thurston Moore. Prior to EVOL, Lunch had contributed vocals to Bad Moon Rising's "Death Valley '69."

While "Bubblegum," a cover of a Kim Fowley track that features the Minutemen's Mike Watt, appeared on SST's original cassette edition, and as a bonus cut on a mid-'90s CD reissue via Geffen, this will be the first time the track is being tacked onto an LP release. The original vinyl edition, as well as a repress served up by ORG Music/Universal in 2010, capped with "Expressway to Yr. Skull."


1. Tom Violence
2. Shadow of a Doubt
3. Starpower
4. In the Kingdom #19
5. Green Light
6. Death to our Friends
7. Secret Girls
8. Marilyn Moore
9. Expressway to Yr. Skull
10. Bubblegum (Kim Fowley cover)