Soma Records Unearth Lost Daft Punk Material On New Compilation

Soma Records Unearth Lost Daft Punk Material On New Compilation
While the idea of unearthed Daft Punk demos still leaves a bad taste in our mouths after the Third Twin fiasco earlier this year, some legitimate, unreleased material from the French house duo has indeed surfaced and will be released on a 20th anniversary retrospective from the band's former label, Soma Records later this year.

Soma Records explain the discovery with the following statement [via 107.7 The End]:

At the tail end of 2010 we trailed boxes of DATs, pictures and god-only-knows what else to find artefacts of Soma's early days. Imagine our surprise when we discovered a tape simply entitled 'Daft Drive'. We hooked up the DAT machine and inserted the tape with the delicacy of a surgeon, pressing play and praying that for one, the tape contained what we hoped, and two, that it didn't chew it like a dog chewing on a bone. In amongst the hiss and crackle, the most monstrous 909 kick drum thudded. Daft Punk's Drive track had been rediscovered. Playing through was Live Daft Punk; freaky vocals, pounding Roland drums & synths and that archetypal DP compression. After standing in silence, witnessing this moment, the track faded off and we heard the sound of the French spoken word that the recording had been made over; the remnants of their parents audio collection. The tape had originally been sent with Rollin' and Scratchin' to be released as Soma25. But Soma asked these two bright-eyed and Techno-bound Frenchman, to finish and send Da Funk to accompany Rollin' and Scratchin' and DRIVE was shelved for a later date…

The unreleased Daft Punk material from 1994 will open Soma's 20 Years compilation, a triple-CD set that will drop September 19. The album can be pre-ordered here, with a full tracklisting available below.

20 Years:

Disc one: Soma Classics:

1. Daft Punk "Drive Unreleased 1994"
2. Scott Grooves (ft. Parliament / Funkadelic) "Mothership Reconnection" (Daft Punk Remix)
3. Silicone Soul "Right On, Right On"
4. Slam "Azure"
5. Funk D'Void "Diabla" (Heavenly Mix)
6. Slam "Positive Education"
7. The Black Dog "Cost II"
8. Samuel L Session "Can You Relate" (Joris Voorn Flooding The Market With Remixes)
9. Percy X "X-Trak 1"
10. Desert Storm "Desert Storm"
11. Slam "Eterna"

Disc two: Slam DJ Mix:

1. Slam "Groovelock" (Deepchord Atmospheric Rebuild)
2. Eastmen "U Dig" (Loco Dice Remix)
3. H-Foundation "Slayin' The Dragon" (Klartraum Remix)
4. Hatikvah "In The Spirit" (Rod Modell | Deepchord Vector & Velocity Mix)
5. Slam "Human" (Oxia Remix)
6. Silicone Soul "Right On, Right On" (Nick Curly Remix)
7. Pablo "Turn The Page" (Alex Under Remix)
8. Vector Lovers "Computrfnk" (Sebrok's Funk You Remix)
9. Itamar Sagi "One Million Oaks" (Mark Broom Remix)
10. H-Foundation "Passage of Time" (D'Julz Remix)
11. Master H "Magic K" (Paul Ritch 31 Trudaine Mix)
12. Silicone Soul "3am" (Maetrik Jazzersize Mix)
13. Slam "Lifetimes" (Pan-Pot Bass Times Mix)
14. Slam "Stepback" (Mark Henning Remix)
15. Slam "Positive Education" (Zero T Mix)
16. Slam "Stepback" (Adam Beyer & Jesper Dahlback Remix)
17. Tony Thomas "Beginnings" (Gary Beck Remix)
18. Funk D'Void "Diabla" (Christian Smith & Wehbba Remix)
19. Funk D'Void "Diabla" (Joash Remix)

Disc three: Silicone Soul DJ Mix:

1. [Intro] Percy X Vs Bloodsugar - "-3 (Emissions 2)" / Scott Grooves feat. Roy Ayers "Expansions" (Acapella)
2. Counterplan "90 Degrees" (DJ Q Mix) / Scott Grooves feat. Parliament / Funkadelic "Mothership Reconnection" (Acapella)
3. Otaku "Percussion Obsession"
4. Chaser "Destination Unknown"
5. Mark Henning "Last Night"
6. Alex Smoke "Chica Wappa"
7. Desert Storm "Scoraig 93"
8. Schatrax "Mispent Years" (Silicone Soul's Darkroom Dub) / Hatikvah "In The Spirit" (Acapella)
9. Rejuvination "Requiem"
10. Slam "Positive Education"
11. Daft Punk "Alive"
12. Universal Principles "Inspiration & Light" (Acapella)
13. Slam "This World" (Wighnomy Bros. & Robag Wruhme Dub) / "Acapella" (Silicone Soul Snakecharmer Edit)
14. Funk D'Void "Diabla" (Heavenly Mix)
15. Silicone Soul "Chic-O-Laa" (H-Foundation Remix)
16. Eastmen "U Dig" (Acapella)
17. Silicone Soul "Right On, Right On" (Original Mix)
18. [Outro] Hatikvah "Daedalus" / H-Foundation feat. Aion "Tonight" (Acapella) (Silicone Soul Together Until The Sun Edit)