Slum Village Return with Villa Manifesto After Five-Year Absence

Slum Village Return with <i>Villa Manifesto</i> After Five-Year Absence
It's been five years since Slum Village released their self-titled effort, and a lot has happened since then. Besides the passing of J Dilla in 2006, the hip-hop group took another blow when founding MC Baatin passed away last year. T3 (the last remaining original member) has decided to continue their legacy with the help of Elzhi and Illa J, and they've announced that their sixth studio album will be out this summer.

The record is called Villa Manifesto, and in a press release, T3 calls it "both a reunion and a memorial album," as he's used bits and pieces of recordings from all Slum Village members. On top of the Village, the album includes contributions from De La Soul, Little Brother and Hi Tek, among many others.

In the same press release, T3 delved into the album's title, saying, "The reason why we call it Villa Manifesto is that it was a statement we want to give our people because we had been away for so long. What we're doing, what's going on, how we're feeling, and where we're at today."

Villa Manifesto will be released on July 27 via Barak Records.

Villa Manifesto:

1. "Bare Witness"

2. "Lock It Down" (produced by J Dilla)

3. "Earl Flin" (ft. J Dilla)

4. "Scheming" (ft. J Dilla, De La Soul & Phife)

5. "Faster" featuring Colin Munroe

6. "2000 Beyond" (ft. J Dilla)

7. "Stereo" (ft. J Dilla)

8. "Don't Fight the Feeling" (ft. Dwele)

9. "Dance"

10. "Um Um"

11. "The Set Up"

12. "Where Do We Go From Here" (ft. Little Brother)

13. "We'll Show You"