Sloan Prep New Album

Sloan Prep New Album
Following up on 2006’s 30-song rock epic, Never Hear the End of It, Canuck power-poppers Sloan are set to release album number nine, entitled Parallel Play. On June 10, the album is scheduled to hit the shops via Yep Roc in the U.S. and presumably on the recently reinstated Murderrecords in Canada. And as always, the four members of Sloan — Jay Ferguson, Chris Murphy, Patrick Pentland and Andrew Scott — have divvied up the songwriting, finding Jay, Chris and Patrick with three tracks each and a prolific Andrew surprisingly coming out on top with four.

According to the band, the title Parallel Play refers to the behaviour observed in young children in which they enjoy pursuing independent activities in the company of other tikes, which mirrors the Halifax group’s own intrapersonal songwriting dynamics to a tee.

"I think we create better separately than when we try to do it together,” says Pentland, of the band’s writing process. "Sometimes collaboration works, but we're such different people, and all of us are capable song writers and producers, that it doesn't make sense to try to force the band to adhere to some preconceived idea of the typical rock band architecture."

The band are currently organising a U.S. and Canadian tour in support of Parallel Play, with dates to be announced shortly. For now, here’s the tracklisting:

1 Believe In Me (Patrick)
2 Cheap Champagne (Jay)
3 All I Am Is All You’re Not (Chris)
4 Emergency 911 (Andrew)
5 Burn For It (Patrick)
6 Witch's Wand (Jay)
7 The Dogs (Andrew)
8 Living The Dream (Chris)
9 The Other Side (Patrick)
10 Down In The Basement (Andrew)
11 If I Could Change Your Mind (Jay)
11 I'm Not A Kid Anymore (Chris)
13 Too Many (Andrew)