Skydiggers Take On the Work of Gene Clark for 'Here Without You'

Skydiggers Take On the Work of Gene Clark for 'Here Without You'
Having celebrated their 25th anniversary as a group back in 2013, treasured Canadian outfit Skydiggers are set to look back at the work of another storied artist with a forthcoming full-length album. The group will reinterpret the work of Byrds songwriter Gene Clark on Here Without You – The Songs of Gene Clark​, arriving this spring.

Recorded and produced by Michael Timmins (Cowboy Junkies), the album features Skydiggers' takes on Clark's work with the Byrds, as well as his lesser-known solo material, over eight tracks.

"It seems like we've been fans of the Byrds forever, so to say that we've just discovered Gene Clark's songwriting contributions to the band makes it seem like he's been hiding in plain sight all of these years," the band wrote in a statement. "In this discovery we have made a connection to our roots; not just to the roots of folk rock and the Woody Guthrie, Bob Dylan, or Gene Clark in the New Christy Minstrels style of folk singing but back to the Appalachians and across the ocean to the songs of the Brits and the Scots."

Guitarist Josh Finlayson continued: "It's Gene's sense of melody, his use of chords, his way with a lyric that we connected with so strongly. He never enjoyed the level of success or recognition he deserved during his lifetime, but his songs endure and it is a privilege to interpret his work."

Here Without You is slated to arrive on May 13 through Latent Recordings. Read through the tracklist and watch a video for the band's reinterpretation of Byrds classic "8 Miles High" below.

Here Without You – The Songs of Gene Clark​:

1. 8 Miles High
2. Here Without You
3. One in a Hundred
4. Set You Free This Time
5. Feel a Whole Lot Better
6. The World Turns All Around Her
7. So You Say You Lost Your Baby
8. She Don't Care About Time

Tour dates:

04/30 Bayfield, ON - Ashwood Bourbon Bar
05/12-13 Toronto, ON - Hugh's Room