The Silver Lake Chorus Recruit the Flaming Lips, Justin Vernon, Tegan & Sara for Debut LP

The Silver Lake Chorus Recruit the Flaming Lips, Justin Vernon, Tegan & Sara for Debut LP
The Silver Lake Chorus are known for performing choral arrangements of indie songs, but for their debut album, they opted not to do any established covers. Rather, they had a host of high-profile songwriters pen new tunes especially for them.

When the L.A. singing ensemble's eponymous album arrives on June 16 through Six Degrees Records, it will include songs rare and new tracks written by Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd (the Flaming Lips), Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Ben Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie), Carl Newman (the New Pornographers), Sia, Tegan & Sara, Aimee Mann and more.

The album was produced by Ben Lee, who also wrote a song. According to an announcement, "Stodgy concert choir this is not — though the musicianship excels and the chamber-filling harmonies are clearly the product of accomplished, studied arrangers. Nor is TSLC a high school glee club or college a cappella group — their enthusiasm and obvious camaraderie are just as infectious, but they've left the saccharine sweet dance numbers and costumes at home."

See the tracklist below; the name of the writer of each song is in parentheses. Scroll past that to hear the newly unveiled "Heavy Star Movin'" by Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd of the Flaming Lips. Also below, check out the previously shared cuts "From the Snow-Tipped Hills" (by Justin Vernon) and Wreckage (by A.C. Newman), which date back a couple of years.

The album can be pre-ordered from the Silver Lake Chorus' Bandcamp page. It's available on CD or digitally.

The Silver Lake Chorus:

1. From the Snow-Tipped Hills (Justin Vernon of Bon Iver)
2. Hold Up For (Tegan & Sara)
3. Break It Down (Inara George & Greg Kurstin of the Bird and the Bee)
4. Heavy Star Movin' (Wayne Coyne & Steven Drozd of the Flaming Lips)
5. Same Song (John Roderick of the Long Winters)
6. Nervous Soul (Ben Gibbard of Death Cab For Cutie)
7. Salted Wound (Sia, Track & Field and Oliver Kraus)
8. Overboard (Ben Lee)
9. Home Come Home (Heather Ogilvy and Michael B. Wells)
10. Wreckage (Carl Newman of the New Pornographers)
11. Easy to Die (Aimee Mann & Paul Bryan)