Sigur Rós premiere "Gobbledigook,” announce new record details

Sigur Rós premiere 'Gobbledigook,” announce new record details
Sigur Rós have finally leaked the details of their upcoming studio album, titled Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust, or in English, "With a buzz in our ears we play endlessly.” On June 24, the new full-length by the Icelandic quartet is set to hit North America via XL, and for the first time in the band’s career will feature a song sung in English (by the looks of the track titles listed below, it’s likely the either "Festival” or "All Alright”).

Also marking a first for the group, Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust, which follows 2005’s Takk, is the first album Sigur Rós have recorded outside their native Iceland, with the band rolling tape in New York, London, Havana and their own studio in Reykjavik. The album was produced by the group, along with veteran producer Flood (U2, Nine Inch Nails, New Order). The record also feature’s contributions by the London Oratory Boys’ Choir, a five-piece brass ensemble and their usual string quartet, Amiina.

The record’s opening track, "Gobbledigook,” is scheduled to premier tonight (May 27) on BBC Radio 1 and then will be available for free download on the band’s website at 2:30 p.m. EST. A new video for the track will be posted on the site later today as well.

And if June 24 seems a little too long to wait for the album, pre-ordering the disc (which you can do starting June 2) will grant you a free download of the record a week before its physical release. Also when pre-ordering, you get the option of picking up a deluxe edition of the album, which features a "making of” book, a film and other tasty add-ons.

Here is the Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust tracklisting:

1. Gobbledigook
2. Inní mér syngur vitleysingur
3. Góðan daginn
4. Við spilum endalaust
5. Festival
6. Með suð í eyrum
7. Ára bátur
8. Illgresi
9. Fljótavík
10. Straumnes
11. All Alright

Sigur Rós - "Glósóli"