Sigur Rós' Jónsi To Release New Collaboration

Sigur Rós' Jónsi To Release New Collaboration
Head Sigur Rós mood-maker Jón Ržór Birgisson (aka Jónsi) is pairing up with partner Alex Somers to release a new album this summer. Titled Riceboy Sleeps, the record is set for release July 20 in Europe through Parlophone (no North American release os planned yet), with the pair taking on the simple handle of Jón Ržór Birgisson & Alex Somers.

During the last few years, the duo have embarked on several joint art projects under the album's title, Riceboy Sleeps, and recently contributed the track "Happiness" to the Dark Was the Night comp.

And while Jónsi is the singer of Sigur Rós, there are apparently no vocals on the 68-minute, nine-track Riceboy Sleeps LP. The press release adds that the record is also a pretty environmentally friendly one "played solely on acoustic instruments in Iceland (and featuring long-time string collaborators Amiina, as well as the Kopavogsdaetur choir) and then endlessly toyed with on solar-powered laptops in a raw food commune in some far corner of Hawaii."

To get a taste of the album, you can check out videos for the tracks "All the Big Trees" and "Daní­ell in the Sea" down below the tracklisting.

Riceboy Sleeps:

1. "Happiness"
2. "Atlas Song"
3. "Indian Summer"
4. "Stokkseyri"
5. "Boy 1904"
6. "All the Big Trees"
7. "Daní­ell in the Sea"
8. "Howl"
9. "Sleeping Giant"