Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield Prep Elliott Smith Tribute Album

Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield Prep Elliott Smith Tribute Album
It's been more than a decade since his death, but Elliott Smith's work continues to be celebrated with film projects and vinyl releases. Now, the singer will be receiving a tribute album courtesy of Seth Avett of the Avett Brothers and Jessica Lea Mayfield.
Aptly titled Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith, the new album will arrive on March 17 via Ramseur.

The former tourmates have been collaborating on the collection for three years, inspired by a mutual love for Smith's haunting balladry. The material was recorded between both artists' homes and Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, NC.
"It came about so naturally; there was nothing insincere about it," said Avett in a statement. "It only exists because me and Jessica love Elliott Smith's songs."
"Everyone who's an Elliott Smith fan takes the lyrics and relates them to themselves," Mayfield added. "When Seth is singing, I forget for a moment that they're Elliott Smith songs, and when I'm singing them it's the same thing. Suddenly, I'm singing the lyrics as if it were my own song."
The compilation features 12 reworked versions of Smith's songs, spanning his entire career with tracks like "Baby Britain," "Somebody That I Used to Know" and "Angeles" making the final tracklisting. The full list is available below.
You can scroll past the it to hear snippets of "Let's Get Lost" and "Roman Candle," in addition to watching behind-the-scenes footage of the recording process in the pair's new promo video.
Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith:
1. Between the Bars
2. Baby Britain
3. Fond Farewell
4. Somebody That I Used to Know
5. Let's Get Lost
6. Twilight
7. Ballad of Big Nothing
8. Angel in the Snow
9. Pitseleh
10. Angeles
11. Roman Candle
12. Memory Lane