Sera Cahoone Preps 'Deer Creek Canyon' for Sub Pop

Sera Cahoone Preps 'Deer Creek Canyon' for Sub Pop
Drummer-turned-solo songwriter Sera Cahoone has previously released two albums' worth of folksy, restrained tunes, and now she's getting ready to do it all over again. Her latest album is called Deer Creek Canyon, and it will drop on September 25 via Sub Pop.

The disc was co-produced by Cahoone, along with Thom Monahan (Devendra Banhart, Beachwood Sparks, Vetiver), at Bear Creek Studios in Washington and in Los Angeles. According to a press release, this 12-song collection "sees her ruminating on the gravitational pull of home. Titled for the Colorado canyon where she came of age, where her mother still lives, Deer Creek Canyon delves deeper and sees her voice remarkably stronger than on her previous albums."

The material here is reportedly culled from a period of more than 15 years, as "she started writing [album track] 'Naked' when she was 20 and finished it just before they hit 'record.'" She recruited her longtime live band to perform the tracks in studio.

This album comes four years after 2008's Only as the Day Is Long. The songwriter said in a statement, "I get really homesick and think about moving back to Colorado. But, I've matured a lot. I took a very long break to write this record. I didn't care how long it took. Once these songs started coming together, I knew I wanted to take my time with this one. I wanted to get it right, focus more on production, and make sure all the sounds and vocals were pushed even higher."

See the tracklist below and scroll to bottom of the page to stream and/or download the rootsy "Naked."

Deer Creek Canyon:

1. Worry All Your Life

2. Deer Creek Canyon

3. Naked

4. Nervous Wreck

5. And Still We Move

6. Every Little Word

7. One to Blame

8. Rumpshaker

9. Shakin' Hands

10. Anyway You Like

11. Here with Me

12. Oh My