Scud Mountain Boys Return with First New Album in 17 Years

Scud Mountain Boys Return with First New Album in 17 Years
Nearly two decades after dropping 1996's much-loved Massachusetts, alt-country crew Scud Mountain Boys have finally announced a follow-up LP, Do You Love the Sun. The long-awaited album drops on CD on July 9 via Ashmont Music, with the LP version coming August 6 through American Dust.

The record comes in the wake of original members Joe Pernice (vocals, acoustic and electric guitars), Stephen Desaulniers (vocals, acoustic guitar, bass) and Bruce Tull getting back together in 2011 to play a series of live shows. They later reissued early albums Pine Box and Dance the Night Away as the The Early Year compilation.

While earlier records were marked with an alt-country sound that lumped them in with the likes of Son Volt and Wilco, this new collection promises "hooky '70s AM-radio pop" and homages to Johnny Cash.

The band finished mixing the LP back in February, with mastering duties then being handled by Bill Inglot.

You can check out the album art above and the tracklist below.

In related news, Pernice is to also release a new album this fall by his post-Scud Mountain Boys outfit, the Pernice Brothers.

Do You Love the Sun:

1. Do You Love the Sun
2. Double Bed
3. Crown of Thorns
4. Learn to Love Him
5. The Mendicant
6. Orphan Girl
7. She Falls Apart
8. Theme From Midnight Cowboy
9. Drew Got Shot
10. You're Mine