​Ryan Driver Returns with New LP, Premieres Collaboration with the Weather Station

'Careless Thoughts' will arrive next month
​Ryan Driver Returns with New LP, Premieres Collaboration with the Weather Station
Toronto musician Ryan Driver has announced plans for a brand new solo record titled Careless Thoughts. Come November 24, the album will arrive via Tin Angel Records.
The upcoming full-length hears Driver moving away from his usual avant-garde jazz-leaning creations played on his own invented instruments, opting instead for a primary backdrop of piano and acoustic guitar.
The new set of songs also hears Driver delving into the great themes of humanity — "love, existence, mortality, darkness and time" — without losing his buoyant approach to making music.
"The tone of the record may seem fairly serious at first glance, and I wouldn't say that it isn't serious," he explained in a statement. "But it is very playful, and even fun if you listen carefully enough."
The first sampling from the forthcoming full-length has arrived with "It Must Be Dark Tonight." It's a tender, country-esque ballad accompanied by acoustic picking, piano, strings and guest vocals by the Weather Station's Tamara Lindeman.
See the full tracklisting and Driver's upcoming tour dates below, then hit play to hear the premiere of "It Must Be Dark Tonight."

Careless Thoughts is currently available for pre-order here.
Careless Thoughts:
1. They Call This Everything
2. It's Nothing Time
3. Careless Thoughts
4. I Guess I Won't Be Going Home
5. Love
6. It Must Be Dark Tonight
7. The Seasons the Months and the Days
8. Olive Tree
9. There Once Was a Sky
Tour dates:
12/02 Toronto, ON – Quixotic Sounds
12/06 Toronto, ON – Arrayspace