Rosie June Signs to Brendan Canning's Draper Street Records for 'Listening Post' Reissue

Rosie June Signs to Brendan Canning's Draper Street Records for 'Listening Post' Reissue
Last year, Brendan Canning shifted away from Broken Social Scene's Arts & Crafts label and released a solo album through his own Draper Street Records. Now, he's teamed with Vancouver's Bandwagon Music to sign Rosie June, whose debut album, Listening Post, will be out on June 17.

This is a reissue, since the 21-year-old singer-songwriter from Nanaimo, BC, initially released Listening Post in 2013. In fact, Canning told CBC last December that Listening Post was his favourite album of the year.

The album was produced by Jonathan Evans, and a press release notes that it invites listeners into a "dreamy world with ethereal vocals, airy synths and soft percussive beats." Sonic touchstones include Lush, the Sundays, Radiohead and —surprise, surprise — Broken Social Scene. The reissue comes bolstered with remixes from Young Galaxy, Most Serene Republic and more.

Scroll past the tracklist to see the songwriter's upcoming Canadian tour schedule with Hey Ocean!; below that, watch an intimate live rendition of Listening Post's title track featuring Canning.

Listening Post:

1. Broadway
2. Sound It Out
3. Same Thing
4. Airport Lines
5. Feel Better
6. Figure 8
7. Lion On Your Side
8. Hey Stranger
9. Listening Post
10. Sound It Out (Young Galaxy Remix)
11. Sound It Out (FEMME Remix)
12. Lion On Your Side (Most Serene Republic Remix)
13. Broadway (Wolf Thief Remix)

Tour dates:

06/13 Toronto, ON - Horseshoe Tavern *
06/15 Ridgeway, ON -The Sanctuary *
06/16 Hamilton, ON - The Casbah *
06/18 Waterloo, ON - The Starlight *
06/19 Kingston, ON - The Mansion *
06/20 Montreal, QC - Divan Orange for Montreal Fringe Festival *
06/26 Vancouver, BC - Juniper Room 

* with Hey Ocean!

Rosie June- 'Listening Post' (ft Brendan Canning) from Wood & Wires on Vimeo.