Robert Plant Announces 'Carry Fire' LP, Shares New Song

Listen to "The May Queen" now
Robert Plant Announces 'Carry Fire' LP, Shares New Song
Legendary Led Zeppelin vocalist Robert Plant recently hinted at some new material with a mysterious teaser clip, and now he's confirmed plans for his next solo album. Carry Fire is due out on October 13 via Nonesuch/Warner Bros. Records, and it's available for pre-order here.
The record follows 2014's lullaby… and the Ceaseless Roar, and marks Plant's fourteenth solo album overall.
Among the guests set to appear on the album are Pretenders singer Chrissie Hynde on "Bluebirds Over the Mountain" (an Ersel Hickey cover), as well as cellist Redi Hasa and viola and fiddle player Seth Lakeman.
"It's about intention, I respect and relish my past works but each time I feel the lure and incentive to create new work. I must mix old with new," Plant said in a statement. "Consequently the whole impetus of the band has moved on its axis somewhat, the new sound and different space giving way to exciting and dramatic landscapes of mood, melody and instrumentation."
The first sample of his latest sound arrives with lead single "The May Queen." Scroll past the complete Carry Fire tracklisting and hit play to give it a listen.
Carry Fire:
1. The May Queen
2. New World...
3. Season's Song
4. Dance With You Tonight
5. Carving Up The World Again... a wall and not a fence
6. A Way With Words
7. Carry Fire
8. Bones Of Saints
9. Keep It Hid
10. Bluebirds Over The Mountain
11. Heaven Sent