Reversing Falls Reveal Debut Album, Get the Unicorns' Jamie Thompson to Guest

Reversing Falls Reveal Debut Album, Get the Unicorns' Jamie Thompson to Guest
Montreal pop-rock trio Reversing Falls originally planned to release their debut album way back in 2011, but the collection never saw the light of day. That's soon going to change, though, since the band's long-awaited eponymous LP will drop on April 19.

Reversing Falls recorded the disc at various studios, churches and apartments around Montreal. Previous studio collaborator Mark Lawson (Arcade Fire, Timber Timbre) acted as co-producer, while the Unicorns/Islands' Jamie Thompson stepped in behind the drum kit. This resulted in 10 songs with a runtime of under 30 minutes. Studio whiz Howard Bilerman (Arcade Fire, Wolf Parade, Godspeed You! Black Emperor) is currently finishing the mix at the famed Hotel2Tango.

According to a press release, the album "distills the anthemic melodies and blown-out fuzz of their early EPs while adding distortion, vintage drum machines, real drums (via Jamie Thompson of the Unicorns, Islands, Esmerine) and a goddamn grand piano."

Sample the album's grimy but accessible sound via the video and SoundCloud stream for the explosive "Curse This Town" below. The clip is a fairly straight-forward affair and consists mostly of performance footage.

Also, check out the cover artwork above and the tracklist below. As you can see, the album includes the song "Is This Thing On?", which the band previously posted on Bandcamp. Scroll past "Curse This Town" to listen.

Expect Reversing Falls to perform at Canadian Music Week in Toronto in March. They will additionally release a cover of Hole's "Malibu" sometime in the coming weeks.

Reversing Falls

1. Everyone Everyone Everyone
2. Happens All the Time
3. Problems
4. Is This Thing On?
5. Curse This Place
6. LTC
7. Shitty Birthday
8. Callin' You Out
9. Money Cake
10. Pyramid Scheme

REVERSING FALLS, CURSE THIS PLACE video by Laura Crapo dec 2012 from Laura Crapo on Vimeo.