R.E.M.'s Murmur Gets A 25th Anniversary Deluxe Redux

R.E.M.'s <i>Murmur</i> Gets A 25th Anniversary Deluxe Redux
Twenty-five years after R.E.M. dropped their debut full-length, Murmur, the band have buckled down and given it a little deluxe redux action. On November 25, the Georgian alt-rockers will reissue and remaster Murmur courtesy of I.R.S./UMe, ballooning it into a double-disc set and providing a chunk of new add-ons.

With disc one sticking to the original album tracklisting, the second boasts a previously unreleased concert played at Larry’s Hideaway in Toronto just a few months after Murmur’s 1983 release. Along with several Murmur cuts, the 16-song set finds R.E.M. doing a few tracks from their Chronic Town EP, a take on Velvet Underground’s "There She Goes Again” and early live versions of several songs that eventually were included on Reckoning and Life’s Rich Pageant.

Of course, the deluxe reissue also comes with some fancied-up liner notes, which include essays from producers Mitch Easter and Don Dixon, and several former I.R.S. execs.

Here is the tracklisting for the expanded Murmur:

Murmur (Deluxe Edition):

Disc 1:

1. "Radio Free Europe”
2. "Pilgrimage”
3. "Laughing”
4. "Talk About the Passion”
5. "Moral Kiosk”
6. "Perfect Circle”
7. "Catapult”
8. "Sitting Still”
9. "9-9”
10. "Shaking Through”
11. "We Walk”
12. "West of the Fields”

Disc 2 (Live at Larry's Hideaway):

1. "Laughing”
2. "Pilgrimage”
3. "There She Goes Again”
4. "7 Chinese Brothers”
5. "Talk About the Passion”
6. "Sitting Still”
7. "Harborcoat”
8. "Catapult”
9. "Gardening at Night”
10. "9-9”
11. "Just a Touch”
12. "West of the Fields”
13. "Radio Free Europe”
14. "We Walk”
15. "1,000,000”
16. "Carnival of Sorts (Box Cars)”

R.E.M. "Radio Free Europe”