R.E.M. Reveal Expanded Reissue of Lifes Rich Pageant

R.E.M. Reveal Expanded Reissue of <i>Lifes Rich Pageant</i>
With their 15th studio album, Collapse into Now, in the bag, R.E.M. are pressing ahead with their campaign to reissue their early albums. Following last year's redux of Fables of the Reconstruction, the rock legends are now getting ready to put out a 25th anniversary edition of Lifes Rich Pageant.

Originally released in 1986, Lifes Rich Pageant was R.E.M.'s fourth album. It contains no major hits, although it was the group's first record to be certified gold. The collection was recorded with producer Don Gehman at John Mellancamp's Belmont Mall Studios in Belmont, IN.

This expanded anniversary edition will come out as a two-CD set. The first disc has the original album remastered, while disc two will contain The Anthems Demos. This is a 19-track collection containing early versions of the songs from Lifes Rich Pageant, along with seven tracks that didn't make the final cut. Some of these tunes were later rerecorded, including "Bad Day," which came out as a single in 2003.

The CD set will come in a top-lift box with a poster and four postcards. This expanded version will also be released digitally, while the standard remastered album will come out on 180-gram LP.

The 25th anniversary edition of Lifes Rich Pageant will come out via Capitol/I.R.S. on July 12. See the expanded tracklist below.

Lifes Rich Pageant 25th Anniversary Edition:

CD1 - remastered album:

1. "Begin the Begin"
2. "These Days"
3. "Fall on Me"
4. "Cuyahoga"
5. "Hyena (Album Version)"
6. "Underneath the Bunker"
7. "The Flowers of Guatemala"
8. "I Believe"
9. "What If We Give It Away?"
10. "Just a Touch"
11. "Swan Swan H"
12. "Superman"

CD2 - The Anthems Demos

1. "Fall on Me"
2. "Hyena"
3. "March Song (King of Birds)"
4. "These Days"
5. "Bad Day"
6. "Salsa (Underneath the Bunker)"
7. "Swan Swan H"
8. "Flowers of Guatemala"
9. "Begin the Begin"
10. "Cuyahoga"
11. "I Believe"
12. "Out of Tune"
13. "Rotary Ten"
14. "Two Steps Onward"
15. "Just a Touch"
16. "Mystery to Me"
17. "Wait"
18. "All the Right Friends"
19. "Get on Their Way (What If We Give It Away)"