R.E.M. Detail New Best-Of

R.E.M. Detail New Best-Of
Last week, no sooner had R.E.M. announced their breakup than we learned that the rock legends would be releasing a career-spanning best-of. Now, the group have confirmed the details of that collection, Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage: 1982-2011, due out November 15 via Warner Bros.

The two-disc set includes material spanning from their debut EP Chronic Town to three songs recorded earlier this year, following the release of the recent Collapse into Now. There are 40 tracks in all, with at least one song apiece from all 15 of the band's albums. Check out the tracklist below.

Still wondering why R.E.M. called it quits? Bassist Mike Mills told Rolling Stone that they had been discussing it seriously since 2008, when the end of their contract with Warner Bros. began approaching. In fact, they had been idly discussing it even before that, but resolved to stick around after 2004's disappointing Around the Sun in order to redeem themselves artistically -- something some could argue they did with 2008's Accelerate.

"We thought, 'We've done it,'" Mills said. "'Now let's do something no other band has done: Shake hands and walk away as friends.'"

Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage: 1982-2011:

CD 1:

1. "Gardening at Night"

2. "Radio Free Europe"

3. "Talk About the Passion"

4. "Sitting Still"

5. "So. Central Rain"

6. "(Don't Go Back to) Rockville"

7. "Driver 8"

8. "Life and How to Live It"

9. "Begin the Begin"

10. "Fall on Me"

11. "Finest Worksong"

12. "Its the End of the World as We Know it (and I Feel Fine)"

13. "The One I Love"

14. "Stand"

15. "Pop Song 89"

16. "Get Up"

17. "Orange Crush"

18. "Losing My Religion"

19. "Country Feedback"

20. "Shiny Happy People"

CD 2:

1. "The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite"

2. "Everybody Hurts"

3. "Man on the Moon"

4. "Nightswimming"

5. "Whats the Frequency, Kenneth?"

6. "New Test Leper"

7. "Electrolite"

8. "At My Most Beautiful"

9. "The Great Beyond"

10. "Imitation of Life"

11. "Bad Day"

12. "Leaving New York"

13. "Living Well Is the Best Revenge"

14. "Supernatural Superserious"

15. "Überlin"

16. "Oh My Heart"

17. "Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter"

18. "A Month of Saturdays"

19. "We All Go Back to Where We Belong"

20. "Hallelujah"