​Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce 'The Getaway' LP, Stream "Dark Necessities"

​Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce 'The Getaway' LP, Stream 'Dark Necessities'
Red Hot Chili Peppers have been teasing a new album for a while now, and the details have finally arrived.
The band will release their 11th studio album, titled The Getaway on June 17 via Warner Bros. Records.
A previously hinted at, the album was produced by Danger Mouse and mixed by Nigel Goderich. It marks the follow-up to 2011's I'm with You, and you can check out the urban wildlife-inspired album artwork pictured above.
As promised, the band have also delivered a new track titled "Dark Necessities." It opens with Flea's fast finger work on the bass before things take a Coldplay-esque turn on the chorus with twinkling pianos, chiming guitars and breathy vocal harmonies. Despite an unexpected, syrupy piano solo midway through the song, there are still plenty of funky bass breakdowns and handclaps throughout to keep the energy up.
Scroll past the new record's 13-song tracklisting and hit play to give "Dark Necessities a listen" below.
Red Hot Chili Peppers will make a number of Canadian appearances this summer at Ottawa BluesfestOsheaga and Festival d'été de Quebec. Find the rest of the band's upcoming itinerary here.
The Getaway:
1. The Getaway
2. Dark Necessities
3. We Turn Red
4. The Longest Wave
5. Goodbye Angels
6. Sick Love
7. Go Robot
8. Feasting on the Flowers
9. Detroit
10. This Ticonderoga
11. Encore
12. The Hunter
13. Dreams of a Samurai