Prophecy Sun Gears Up for 'Bird Curious,' Unveils New Video

Prophecy Sun Gears Up for 'Bird Curious,' Unveils New Video
Prophecy Sun may be one of Vancouver's busiest musicians, between her tenure in indie rock outfits Tyranahorse and the Adulthood, experimental folk outfit Under the Sun and minimalist duo Spell. But beyond that, she's managed to whip up a third solo record, Bird Curious, which sees release on Tuesday (May 1).

The ten-song set will arrive as a free download through Panospria, and further develops Sun's ethereal, loop-based vocal drones. The follow-up to 2011's Not for Dogs was primarily recorded in her living room onto an iPhone, save for one track that was laid down while she was riding her bicycle around the city.

The template for each track was recorded in one take, and focuses "on the voice as a symbol of the unconscious, capturing the immediacy of emotive textures and sounds that live inside her head," according to the press sheet.

Down below you can check out the haunting video for first single "Moments Pass," a slow-mo clip that bounces between an eerily balloon-filled room and tranquil shots of florae and cracked glass. Sun stars in the video painted up like a leopard, and lets her inner cat take over at she paws at a cat's cradle-style setting.

Bird Curious:

1. Look Up

2. Moments Pass

3. First Day Of Spring

4. Ask For Kiss

5. I Dream Of Horses

6. Metal Jangle

7. Over Yours

8. Boom

9. No Way

10. Night