Prince Treated to Expanded 'Purple Rain' Reissue and 'Prince 4Ever' Hits Collection

Prince Treated to Expanded 'Purple Rain' Reissue and 'Prince 4Ever' Hits Collection
Well the rumours were true (obviously). Prince is about to be honoured with a series of posthumous releases. First among them: a deluxe, expanded edition of Purple Rain — featuring previously unreleased material, no less — and a new, sprawling greatest-hits package called Prince 4Ever.

Due out via NPG Records/Warner Bros., the hits collection will arrive first on November 22 in the U.S. and November 25 elsewhere. It features many of Prince's biggest hits, including "1999," "When Doves Cry," "Nothing Compares 2 U," "Purple Rain" and, yes, "Batdance." There's also the previously unreleased (though much-bootlegged) "Moonbeam Levels," which was recorded in 1982 during the 1999 sessions.

Prince 4Ever contains a 12-page booklet with previously unpublished photos by Herb Ritts. That's its cover above.

As for the Purple Rain reissue, details have yet to be announced in full, but it is set for release early next year. A press release also promises "a second album of previously unreleased material." It also adds that plans for the release "were agreed with Prince before he passed away."

As we continue to wait on more details surrounding the Purple Rain reissue, you can see the tracklist to Prince 4Ever below.

Prince 4Ever:

1. 1999

2. Little Red Corvette

3. When Doves Cry

4. Let's Go Crazy

5. Raspberry Beret

6. I Wanna Be Your Lover

7. Soft and Wet

8. Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad

9. Uptown

10. When You Were Mine

11. Head

12. Gotta Stop (Messin' About)

13. Controversy

14. Let's Work

15. Delirious

16. I Would Die 4 U

17. Take Me With U

18. Paisley Park

19. Pop Life

20. Purple Rain

21. Kiss

22. Sign 'O' The Times

23. Alphabet Street

24. Batdance

25. Thieves In The Temple

26. Cream

27. Mountains

28. Girls & Boys

29. If I Was Your Girlfriend

30. U Got The Look

31. I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man

32. Glam Slam

33. Moonbeam Levels

34. Diamonds and Pearls

35. Gett Off

36. Sexy MF

37. My Name Is Prince

38. 7

39. Peach

40. Nothing Compares 2 U