Prefuse 73 and Teebs Team Up as Sons of the Morning for New EP

Prefuse 73 and Teebs Team Up as Sons of the Morning for New EP
Now that Prefuse 73 (a.k.a. Guillermo Scott Herren) has gone ahead and founded his own Yellow Year Records, the experimental hip-hop producer has announced he'll soon release a collaboration with L.A.'s Teebs under the name Sons of the Morning. The duo's debut will be the first volume of Herren's Speak Soon series, and it arrives October 1.

The seven-song EP is described in a press release as an "excursion of swirling electronic textures, punctuated by gently propulsive percussion," prepared in tandem by the two producers. Though there's only a few weeks left before the EP drops, you can sample the duo's feathery, ornithology-indebted "A Dangerous Exploration of Bird Life" in the SoundCloud player down below, as well as the video for their "The Way Winter Passed Us."

As previously reported, future instalments of Speak Soon will find Prefuse 73 working with Nosaj Thing, Lapalux, Synkro, Nathan Fake and Dimlite. In total, 12 singles are expected to be released as part of the series.

Speak Soon Volume One:

1. The Way Winter Passed Us

2. The Way That Wind Moves pt1

3. A Dangerous Exploration of Bird Life

4. The Way That Wind Moves pt2

5. The Distance From Our Fears

6. Sunday's Buzzabout

7. Movement in Mercury