Polaris Music Prize Reveals 2016 Gala Performers and Grand Jury

Polaris Music Prize Reveals 2016 Gala Performers and Grand Jury
While next month's Polaris Music Prize gala won't actually have chatty attendees being shocked by electro-charged wristbands, the night may well be full of surprises. Ahead of time, though, the organization have confirmed all the acts that will be performing in person that night.

Seven of the 10 nominees on this year's shortlist will be performing during the September 19 gala at Toronto's Carlu. This includes Black Mountain, Basia Bulat, Carly Rae Jepsen, Jessy Lanza, Andy Shauf, U.S. Girls and White Lung. Grimes and Kaytranada will be in attendance, but not performing any music.

As for nominees PUP, the band are going to be in the middle of a European tour, and are set to perform in Vienna this particular evening.

In addition to listing the night's musical entertainment, the Polaris Music Prize also revealed who all will sit on this year's grand jury. The panel of 11 Polaris judges includes Adrien Begrand, Lisa Christiansen (CBC Radio One), Del Cowie (CBC Music), Howard Druckman (SOCAN Words and Music), Lana Gay (Indie 88), Carla Gillis (NOW Magazine), Andrew King (Canadian Musician), Lisa Lagace (Turn the Record Over), Trevor Risk (Ion Magazine), Joni Sadler (CKUT) and Fateema Sayani (Ottawa Magazine).

As previously reported, the grand jury of journalists, broadcasters and bloggers will convene at the Carlu to determine who wins this year's Polaris Music Prize. The award is "judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales." The winner will receive $50,000, while the other nominees will be given $3,000, courtesy of Slaight Music.