Pete Yorn Returns with Frank Black-Produced LP

Pete Yorn Returns with Frank Black-Produced LP
In his decade-long career, New Jersey-based singer-songwriter Pete Yorn has released five albums. Two of them, Back & Fourth and the Scarlett Johansson collaboration Break Up came in 2009. You'd expect him to maybe take a year off to take it easy, twirl his magnificent locks of hair, or go on tour. Instead, he's announced another new album, set for release this fall.

The record is self-titled, and will be his first album for post-emo rock label Vagrant Records. Most excitingly, the album was recorded with Pixies front-man Frank Black. According to a press release, all 11 songs were recorded in five days in Salem, OR, despite the fact that Yorn was sick with a flu for most of the sessions.

Black explains his side of the process, saying, "Pete told me he wanted to better define himself as an artist. I think he just wanted to rock out. But as we headed down a path of realization I stripped him down a whole bunch. We battled in the best sort of way. I tried to get the session into a fearless and raw place, and to his artistic credit Pete took his songwriting to a fearless and raw place. This listener will find his or herself sitting right next to Pete on the couch. And the record totally rocks out."

Vagrant will release Pete Yorn on September 28. The song "Paradise Cove I" can be heard on Yorn's MySpace page.

Pete Yorn:

 1. "Precious Stone"
2. "Rock Crowd"
3. "Velcro Shoes"
4. "Paradise Cove I"
5. "Badman"
6. "The Chase"
7. "Sans Fear"
8. "Always"
9. "Stronger Than"
10. "Future Life"
11. "Wheels"