Dark Blue Announce Debut LP for Jade Tree

Dark Blue Announce Debut LP for Jade Tree
Earlier this summer, Jade Tree owners Darren Walters and Tim Owen announced that following a few years of relative inactivity, the label was about to issue a series of re-releases and new LPs. The first modern-day full-length to be announced by the imprint is an upcoming offering from Philly post-punk trio Dark Blue.

A press release confirms the band's Pure Reality arrives October 7, and follows the group's "Just Another Night with the Boys" track, which was delivered through Jade Tree in July. Comprising John Sharkey III (Clockcleaner, Puerto Rico Flowers), Andrew Nelson (Ceremony, Paint It Black, Puerto Rico Flowers) and Mike Sneeringer (Strand of Oaks, Puerto Rico Flowers), the threesome's first full-length features "a burly, wide open guitar sound" influenced by the likes of Blitz, the Stone Roses and the Church."

Sharkey explained in a statement that the songs on Pure Reality were written a couple of years back while working in Australia before bringing the tracks back to his native Philadelphia. He added: "A good portion of these songs were written in this walking coma at 4 a.m. under the cold ACT moon. Alone and to be quite honest, comfortably beleaguered."

The eight-song Pure Reality was recorded and produced by Jeff Zeigler (Kurt Vile, the War on Drugs, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, Nothing). You'll catch a stream of the album's "Here on My Street" down below beneath the tracklisting.

While details are forthcoming, Jade Tree hinted at represses of albums by the likes of the Promise Ring and Jets to Brazil landing sometime in 2015, and noted that a record from Young Widows offshoot Jaye Jayle is also in the works.

Pure Reality:

1. Never Afraid / Never Alone
2. Here On My Street
3. Dear Iris
4. Sounds Like Hell On Earth
5. I Can't Take Another Year
6. Hanging From The Chandelier
7. City Eyes
8. Always Ready To Leave