The Olympic Symphonium Announce 'Chance to Fate,' Share New Song

The Olympic Symphonium Announce 'Chance to Fate,' Share New Song
Fredericton, NB's the Olympic Symphonium tend to employ a rather low-key approach, but we noted that their 2011 album The City Won't Have Time to Fight was "generous offering of gentle musical bliss." Next month, the folksy outfit will follow it up with Chance to Fate on March 18 through Forward Music Group.

The album was produced by Great Lake Swimmers member Joshua Van Tassel, with recording taking place over just four days at the Salty Towers Inn in St. Andrew, NB. As usual, it features core members Nick Cobham, Kyle Cunjak and Graeme Walker splitting frontman duties; additionally, auxiliary lap steel player Dennis Goodwin sings a song he wrote called "No Saving Grace," while Fredericton poet Christopher Goodwin co-wrote "All in Your Head."

A press release notes that the band avoid singing about love on the album, instead focusing on "new life, the purpose of religion, the loss of a child, and the legacy of an idea."

Get a taste of this by scrolling past the tracklist below to stream the mellow folk rock cut "Predictor." A short album teaser video is also below.

Pre-orders of Chance to Fate come with an exclusive remix EP. This is made of up remixes of past material and includes contributions by Van Tassel, Michael Feuerstack and Paper Beat Scissors' Tim Crabtree.

Chance to Fate:

1. Seize the Day
2. All in Your Head
3. Home
4. Weak at the Knees
5. Sacred Son
6. Jasper
7. No Saving Grace
8. Runner Road
9. Stronger
10. Predictor
11. Chance to Fate