Old Man Luedecke Returns with New Album 'Easy Money'

Watch a video for the record's title track now

BY Brock ThiessenPublished May 3, 2019

Old Man Luedecke has at long last announced his next album. Titled Easy Money, the full-length will arrive on June 14 via True North Records.

The album marks the Canadian songwriter's first since 2015's Domestic Eccentric, with a press release explaining the follow-up finds him "now grappling with the newness of middle age, dad jokes, love for an abiding partner, the death of a parent, along with some calypso-feeling local Nova Scotia history thrown in for good measure."

For a taste of what's in store, Old Man Luedecke has shared the album's "Easy Money" title track, which arrives alongside a new music video. The song itself was written and recorded in the recording studio at a songwriter's retreat at the Banff Centre.

"It is, on record, the very moment the idea of the new album came to be, the first song in a batch of new tunes captured at its very birth," said Luedecke in a statement. "The song sings about the pleasures of family, complains about travel and extols the virtues of good neighbourliness and guaranteed basic income all in less than three minutes of truthful glee."

As for the video, it was filmed around L.A., and you can watch it down below.

While Easy Money began as part of the Banff Centre's songwriter-in-residence program, the album was captured with the help of producer Howard Bilerman of Montreal's famed Hotel2Tango studio, where the album was eventually recorded.

Guests on the album include Tim O'Brien, Afie Jurvanen of Bahamas, and Fats Kaplin, with Luedecke's backing band consisting of Mike O'Brien, Joshua Toal and Jamie Thompson.  

Easy Money:

1. Easy Money
2. Dad Jokes
3. Wake Up Call
4. I Wanna Go
5. Sardine Song
6. Death Of Truth
7. Money Pit
8. Lonely Country
9. How Do I Deserve Your Love
10. Le Ciel est Noir
11. The Mermaid
12. I Skipped A Stone

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage