The Numero Group Issuing LP from Jimmy Jam's Mind & Matter

The Numero Group Issuing LP from Jimmy Jam's Mind & Matter
Ahead of the Numero Group's monumental 50th release Purple Snow: Forecasting the Minneapolis Sound, a four-LP overview of the Twin Cities' '70s funk scene, the archival hub will deliver a complementary LP from producer Jimmy Jam Harris's Mind & Matter project.

A press release explains that 1514 Oliver Avenue (Basement) arrives October 29, and features nine never-before-released recordings from the 11-piece funk group. The songs were tracked in 1977 and are said to mix the Philadelphia sound with "Clavinet attacks, disco skats, and infectious hooks."

While the group featured "a perfectly calibrated vocal quartet, an aggressive rhythm section, and stacks of Rhodes, Rolands, and Hammonds," the press release notes that the band didn't exactly hit it big during their run.

The nine songs come in addition to both of the group's "I'm Under Your Spell" and "Sunshine Lady" being included on Purple Snow. The forthcoming compilation, which is due November 12, also features material from Harris's future production partner Terry Lewis's Flyte Time, as well as Purple Haze, which featured Prince on guitar.

You can find out more about the comp over here.

1514 Oliver Avenue (Basement):

1. No One Else Can Do It To Me Baby
2. Wonder Of It All
3. Love Is Like a Fire
4. I Don't Know Why (I Love You Like I Do)
5. Disco Child
6. When You're Touching Me
7. Would Be Mine
8. Virgin Lady
9. Now That I Don't Have You