Numero Group Documents the Forte Label for New 'Eccentric Soul' Comp

Numero Group Documents the Forte Label for New 'Eccentric Soul' Comp
R&B archivists the Numero Group have been working on yet another volume of their crate-digging Eccentric Soul series, this time for Kansas City imprint the Forte Label. After months of gathering up old singles and researching the label's back story, Numero has announced it will issue Eccentric Soul: The Forte Label as a CD and double-LP on August 28.

A press release for the set puts the focus on singer Marva Whitney, who had acted as "Soul Sister #1" for James Brown prior to teaming up with Ellis Taylor's Forte label in the late '60s. Showcased on the set are singles like "I've Lived the Life," "Nothing I'd Rather Be" and 1972's "Daddy Don't Know About Sugar Bear," which you can stream down below. Sadly, Whitney passed away at the end of 2012, following complications from a 2009 stroke. The cover of the compilation (see above) is an onstage shot of the singer.

Also highlighted on the decades-long retrospective set are the "smoky-voiced soul operatics" of the Four Darlings, girl group the Rayons, and '80s disco-funk artist Sharon Revoal.

As with other entries in the Eccentric Soul series, the LP edition offers up extra material not found on the CD. You can see the tracklisting down below.

Eccentric Soul: The Forte Label:

1. Gene Williams - "Don't Let Your Love Fade Away"
2. Lee Harris - "I Am Gonna Get Your Thing"
3. Tear Drops - "I'm gonna get you"
4. Louis Chachere - "The Hen Part 1"
5. The Fantasticks - "Cry Night and Day V2"
6. Marva W Taylor - "I've Lived The Life"
7. Fabulous Rhythm Makers - "Mini Mini Afro Twist"
8. Tony Ashley - "I'll Never Be Satisfied"
9. The Rayons - "You Confuse Me Baby"
10. Four Darlings - "Baby Your Love Is Amazing"
11. Lee Harris - "Lookin' Good Part1 Combine w/ part 2"
12. Lee Harris - "Lookin' Good Part 2"
13. Marva Whitney - "Daddy Don't Know About Sugar Bear"
14. Gene Williams - "Whatever You Do Do It Good V2"
15. Everyday People - "Is It Really That Bad"
16. The Rayons - "Baby Be Good"
17. Tony Ashley - "All Along I've Loved You"
18. Lee Harris - "I've Got To Have Somebody's Love"
19. Everyday People - "Super Black"
20. James Whitney - "With Fun In My Life"
21. Sharon Revoal - "Reaching For Our Star"
22. Marva W Taylor - "Nothing I'd Rather Be"
23. The Four Darlings - "Give Me LoveĀ " *
24. Unknown Artist - "Dearest Lover" *
25. The Fantasticks - "Live and Let Live" *
26. Fabulous Rhythm Makers - "You Gotta Be Doing It" *
27. Lee Harris - "Skate Boogaloo and Karate Too" *
28. Tear Drops - "Don't Fade Away" *
29. Marva Whitney & Ellis - "Gripey" Taylor "We Need More" *

* LP only