Nirvana, the Supremes, Nile Rodgers and More Given 2023 Lifetime Achievement Grammys

Ma Rainey, Slick Rick, Bobby McFerrin and Heart's Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson are also receiving the honour

BY Kaelen BellPublished Jan 5, 2023

The Grammys are famously adept at making bad decisions, but at the very least this year's Lifetime Achievement Awards will be going to some deserving recipients — Nirvana, the Supremes, Nile Rodgers and Slick Rick are among the artists to be honoured with Lifetime Achievement Awards at this year's Special Merit Awards Ceremony. Ma Rainey, Bobby McFerrin and Heart's Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson are also 2023 recipients.

The Recording Academy's Special Merit Awards Ceremony is happening on February 4 at Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles. It'll also honour the Trustees Award recipients (Henry Diltz, Ellis Marsalis and Jim Stewart), the Technical Grammy recipients (the Audio Engineering Society and Dr. Andy Hildebrand) and the winner of Best Song for Social Change, who hasn't been announced yet. 

Last year, it was announced that Trevor Noah would once again be hosting this year's main ceremony. It'll be Noah's third consecutive year hosting the show. The 2023 edition will also be the first to feature the Grammys' newfangled categories.  

Latest Coverage