New Order Offshoot Bad Lieutenant Details Debut Album

New Order Offshoot Bad Lieutenant Details Debut Album
As previously reported, Bad Lieutenant is the new project of former New Order front-man Bernard Sumner. After forming in 2007 with fellow New Order member Phil Cunningham and new vocalist/guitarist/Rambo and Leroy member Jake Evans, the group have now completed their debut album. Optimistically titled Never Cry Another Tear, the album is due out on October 5 in the UK from Triple Echo Records, with lead single "Sink or Swim" dropping September 21.

Besides the aforementioned members, the album also features contributions from New Order/Joy Division drummer Stephen Morris and Blur bassist Alex James. However, just to confuse things a bit, they are apparently not official band members.

In a statement, Sumner praised his band-mates, saying, "We've worked hard on it [the album] and I'm proud of it. It's also important because it gives people the chance to hear a gifted new singer and guitar player who I think is really talented."

A tour is expected to be announced sometime in the near future, with Morris and bassist Tom Chapman joining Bad Lieutenant's live line-up.

Peter Hook has still yet to comment.