Neil Young Preps New Archival Release with A Treasure Live Album

Neil Young Preps New Archival Release with <i>A Treasure</i> Live Album
Bob Dylan isn't the only folk icon to roll out a seemingly endless stream of archival releases. Canuck hero Neil Young has also got in on the fun by unveiling some long-lost classics -- most notably the massive Archives box set. Next up is A Treasure, a live album recorded during Young's 1984 to '85 U.S. tour.

The 12-track collection will likely appeal to hardcore Neil Young followers rather than casual fans, since it doesn't offer much in the way of hits. According to a press release, five of the songs are previously unreleased. It also has cuts from his 1985 album, Old Ways.

A Treasure features Young's country band, the International Harvesters. This includes the late Ben Keith on steel and slide guitar, plus Rufus Thibodeaux (fiddle), Spooner Oldham (paino), Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano), Tim Drummond (bass), Joe Allen (bass) and Karl Himmel (drums). In a statement, Young said, "I just love to hear those guys. They're all country music legends."

There is still no confirmed release date, but the album will drop via Reprise. It will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download.

UPDATE: A limited-edition vinyl version is reportedly due out May 24, with a CD and digital release set for June 14.

For those who want a visual accompaniment to the music, there will also be a DVD/Blu-Ray release. According to Undercover, these aren't the original concert videos, but rather come from fan footage found online.

"We got them from the internet and we synched them up with the original tracks and its pretty cool to actually watch," Young explained. "But we have some problems because we have the wrong bass player on something, like 'Bound for Glory.' You are seeing Joe Allen, who is great, but you are not really hearing him playing."

Other songs have no video, so the screen only shows a still of the album cover (above).

A Treasure:

1. "Amber Jean"
2. "Are You Ready for the Country?"
3. "It Might Have Been"
4. "Bound for Glory"
5. "Let Your Fingers Do the Walking"
6. "Flying on the Ground Is Wrong"
7. "Motor City"
8. "Soul of a Woman"
9. "Get Back to the Country"
10. "Southern Pacific"
11. "Nothing Is Perfect"
12. "Grey Riders"