NEEDS Sign to File Under: Music for Debut LP, Premiere New Track

BY Alex HudsonPublished Feb 2, 2015

Post-hardcore noisemakers NEEDS have been kicking up chaos in Vancouver for a couple of years, and now they've signed a record deal for their first full-length. File Under: Music will issue the band's self-titled album on May 12.

The album was produced by Jordan Koop (You Say Party, the Courtneys, Needles//Pins) at his Noise Floor Studio on Gabriola Island. Unlike the live-off-the-floor approach of NEEDS' previous recordings, they recorded this one piece-by-piece to give it more polish.

A press release calls the results "a 10-song journey through suburban doldrums, urban renewal, the idiocy of punk music, a smoke break, decay and despair." The five-piece lineup includes You Say Party guitarist Derek Adam, while frontman Sean Orr used to make electronic music as Tassels.

File Under: Music's Steve Mann said in a statement:

For years NEEDS' live performance has been attracting FU:M's attention. From the dark of the Biltmore, where a smashed pint glass led to DIY haircut, to a blistering summer set before fans and families at the Khatsahlano festival, there is no denying the charisma and raw power of a NEEDS show. When we found out they were recording a new album, we called dibs. We were floored by how clear and powerful the recordings were, and from there it was easy to place them into our roster next to Blackie and the Rodeo Kings.

For a taste of NEEDS, scroll past the tracklist below to hear the premiere of the track "We Forgot the Records to Our Record Release Show," which hopefully won't prove to be prophetic come the spring. Its pummelling rhythms and blistering distortion set the backbone for Orr's self-critical screams.

As fans might notice from the tracklist, the album includes one song from each of the band's prior releases: "We Don't Know Why We Are Protesting Is Why We Are Protesting" is from the 2012 tape The Accursed Share and "The Accursed Share" comes from the 2013 7-inch Rare Earths.


1. Rescue Don
2. Walk, Cycle, or Take Transit Like Jehu
3. The Only Good Condo is a Dead Condo
4. Clowns to the Left of Me, Dzhokars to the Right
5. Nag Champion/Smoke Break
6. N.E.E.D.S
7. We Forgot the Records to Our Record Release Show
8. The Accursed Share
9. We Don't Know Why We Are Protesting Is Why We Are Protesting
10. Did you Just Call Me Lord Fuckhead?

Latest Coverage