Nagisa Ni Te Return With New Album After Four-Year Break

Nagisa Ni Te Return With New Album After Four-Year Break
After four album-less years, Japan’s Nagisa Ni Te are finally set to bring a new musical artifact to the Western world. On September 9, the psych-loving duo will once again team up with JagJaguwar to release Yosuga, the long-running project’s seventh album proper and the first since 2005’s Dream Sounds.

Yosuga — which translates to mean "the source or grounds upon which the body and mind rely" — was released through P-Vine Records in the band’s native Japan back in June. However, this fall will mark the first time North American audiences will get a chance to hear what Nagisa Ni Te have laid down on this one.

According to Jagjaguwar, what you can expect is "subtle instrumental variations [that] range from folky acoustic strumming to psychedelic guitar riffs, resulting in an amazing cross between progressive and folk rock,” which pretty much sounds like what you would expect from Nagisa Ni Te’s Masako Takeda and Shinji Shibayama, who's been perfecting his chilled-out folk-pysch since the ’80s.

There is no word on any possibility of a tour in support of the album, and chances are if there is one, it won’t make it over to North America. In fact, the only way you're likely to hear any Nagisa Ni Te live is if Jens Lekman comes through town and whips out his version of the group’s classic "Me On Love Beach.”

Here is the tracklisting Yosuga:

1. "Premonition”
2. "Seven Seas”
3. "Seeing the Sea”
4. "Reaction in G”
5. "Secrets”
6. "Midsummer Overhead”
7. "Ishi River”
8. "The Next Day”
9. "Close by Night”
10. "Kumao”
11. "Gathering of Stars”
12. "Yosuga (My Refuge and Strength)”
13. "Dewdrops from heaven”

Jens Lekman "Me On Love Beach” live in Tokyo