Mogwai Release Details for Live Album and Accompanying Film

Mogwai Release Details for Live Album and Accompanying Film
As we told you in the fall, UK post-rock mainstays Mogwai have been hard at work compiling Special Moves, an upcoming live album, and its companion concert film, Burning, both of which document the band's 2009 Brooklyn show. Besides the fact that Mogwai are known for one hell of a live show, the film was directed by Blogoteque gurus Vincent Moon and Nathanaël Le Scouarnec, so we've been getting excited for this release.

While they still refuse to say when it's actually coming out, Mogwai recently revealed the tracklisting for the live album on their blog. Special Moves will feature 11 tracks of searingly loud post-rock on its CD incarnation. And if you splurge on the limited-edition triple-vinyl box of the release, you'll be treated to six bonus tracks.

Both packs come with the DVD, and if you can't afford the vinyl box, the CD will come with a download coupon for the six bonus songs. Either way, you're a winner. The only issue is that the band refuse to give a real release date. All we can report is that Special Moves and Burning will be released this spring through Mogwai's Rock Action imprint.

Fortunately, they have also offered an MP3 for the live version of "2 Rights Make 1 Wrong" in exchange for your info here. They've also posted a video teaser, which is streamable below.

Oh, and if you're over in Glasgow, Burning will be getting its UK premiere at the GFT Glasgow on February 28 as part of the Glasgow Film Festival.

Special Moves:

1. "I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead"

2. "Friend Of The Night"

3. "Hunted By A Freak"

4. "Mogwai Fear Satan"

5. "Cody"

6. "You Don't Know Jesus"

7. "I Know You Are But What Am I"

8. "I Love You, I'm Going To Blow Up Your School"

9. "2 Rights Make 1 Wrong"

10. "Like Herod"

11. "Glasgow Megasnake"

12. "Yes! I Am A Long Way From Home" *

13. "Scotlands Shame" *

14. "New Paths To Helicon Part 1" *

15. "Batcat" *

16. "Thank You Space Expert" *

17. "The Precipice" *

* vinyl only

Mogwai Live Film "Burning" Teaser from Nathanaël Le Scouarnec on Vimeo.