Mogwai Announce 'Every Country's Sun' Album, Share New Song

Mogwai Announce 'Every Country's Sun' Album, Share New Song
When Scottish post-rockers Mogwai announced their North American fall tour, the band revealed that they had recently finished recording a new full-length alongside producer Dave Fridmann. Now, they've confirmed the details of that album.

The record is called Every Country's Sun. It will be out on September 1 through Temporary Residence/Rock Action/Spunk. An announcement calls it Mogwai's "most transportive album yet," drawing comparisons to New Order and the Flaming Lips. Guitarist Stuart Braithwaite sings on the song "Party in the Dark."

The announcement reads, "Every Country's Sun takes two decades of Mogwai's signature, contrasting sounds — towering intensity, pastoral introspection, synth-rock minimalism, DNA-detonating volume — and distills it, beautifully, into 56 concise minutes of gracious elegance, hymnal trance-rock, and transcendental euphoria."

For a taste of this, stream the opening cut "Coolverine" at the bottom of this page.

See the 11-song tracklist below. Also below, see the bonus tracks that come with the deluxe triple-vinyl edition. The album is available to pre-order here. Vinyl pre-orders come with a 7-inch for "Party in the Park."

Every Country's Sun:

1. Coolverine
2. Party in the Dark
3. Brain Sweeties
4. Crossing the Road Material
5. aka 47
6. 20 Size
7. 1000 Foot Face
8. Don't Believe the Fife
9. Battered at the Scramble
10. Old Poisons
11. Every Country's Sun

Deluxe Edition Bonus 12-Inch:

1. Acoustic Wash Demo Rough Mix
2. Baritone 2 Demo Rough Mix
3. Bass Tuned To C Demo Rough Mix
4. Bends Demo Rough Mix
5. Frez Demo Rough Mix
6. Ludicrous Ripper Demo Rough Mix