Mo Kenney Wins 2013 SOCAN Songwriting Prize

Mo Kenney Wins 2013 SOCAN Songwriting Prize
This year, the annual ECHO Songwriting Prize was rebranded as the SOCAN Songwriting Prize, and now the winner has been announced from the previously unveiled shortlist of five finalists. Nova Scotia songwriter Mo Kenney took home the award for her tune "Sucker."

As part of her victory, Kenney won $5,000, plus a Gibson Les Paul guitar and a $3,000 gift certificate from Roland.

"I am honoured to receive the SOCAN Songwriting Prize," she said in a statement. "I wrote 'Sucker' in my first apartment in Halifax after getting dumped, I never dreamed back then that I'd win a prize for it. Thanks, SOCAN, and thanks to all the other nominees and the people who voted for me!"

She beat out fellow nominees Maylee Todd, Whitehorse, Purity Ring, and the Weather Station featuring Baby Eagle. The nominees were chosen by a panel of Canadian music experts, with the winner selected by online fan voting. Listen to "Sucker" below.

SOCAN also gives out a Francophone prize — Prix de la chanson SOCAN — which went to Quebec City's Keith Kouna for "Batiscan."

Past winners of the English-language instalment of the prize include Kathleen Edwards, Katie Moore, Brasstronaut, D-Sisive, the Weakerthans, Abdominal and Propagandhi.