Misery Signals Return with First Album in Seven Years 'Ultraviolet'

Hear opener "The Tempest" now
Misery Signals Return with First Album in Seven Years 'Ultraviolet'
Misery Signals have returned with news of their first new album in seven years. The metalcore outfit will release new full-length Ultraviolet on August 7.

Nine tracks in length, Ultraviolet follows the band's 2013 LP Absent Light and marks their first since original vocalist Jesse Zaraska rejoined the lineup in 2016.

Zaraska first appeared on Misery Signals' 2004 debut Of Malice and the Magnum Heart, leaving the band shortly after. Karl Schubach would handle lead vocals on the band's following three albums before they reunited with Zaraska for an anniversary tour behind Of Malice in 2014.

Ultraviolet opener "The Tempest" arrives alongside the album announcement, and you can hear it below.

Of his lyrical direction on Ultraviolet, Zaraska offered, "It is a record that purveys a much greater sense of hope than those that preceded it, and I think that as older individuals this was important from the onset of the process. I tried to create a Misery Signals record that was lyrically more positive than the previous outings, something that I could get behind as a father. Though there still exists a fair amount of tension and darkness, there shines a great amount more light."


1. The Tempest
2. Sunlifter
3. River King
4. Through Vales Of Blue Fire
5. Old Ghosts
6. The Fall
7. Redemption Key
8. Cascade Locks
9. Some Dreams