Minutemen, Wilco, Deerhoof and Tera Melos Members Team Up as Big Walnuts Yonder

Minutemen, Wilco, Deerhoof and Tera Melos Members Team Up as Big Walnuts Yonder
What would a band made up of members from Minutemen, Wilco, Deerhoof and Tera Melos sound like? We had no idea either, at least until today, as the new Big Walnuts Yonder supergroup have just made their formal introduction.

Featuring bassist/vocalist Mike Watt (Minutemen, Stooges), guitarist Nels Cline (Wilco, Nels Cline Singers), drummer Greg Saunier (Deerhoof) and guitarist/vocalist Nick Reinhart (Tera Melos), the quartet look to ascend beyond simply being labelled a supergroup with a self-titled debut LP, out May 5 through Sargent House.

Said to contain "elements of proto-punk, free jazz, power pop, experimental music, psych-rock and your first teenage acid trip," the 10-track debut was recorded over three days in the summer of 2014, with the band holing themselves up at Pere Ubu bassist Tony Maimone's Studio G. 

"It was this concentrated sort of freakout," Saunier said in a statement. "We basically had to invent a new band on the spot. And, people might have a stereotype of what each person does, but we all showed up to do what we're prevented from doing in other groups."

That said, the group made sure to not have the finished product sound much like a simple jam session. "It was very clear among us," Saunier added. "Let's not overindulge and make it a 'musician's recording.'" 

When asked to describe Big Walnuts Yonder, Cline said: "It's sick. It has an extreme quality and kicks ass."

The first taste of ass-kicking can be heard below with "Raise the Drawbridges?," and you can hear that sonic offering at the bottom of the page.

Read through the tracklist to Big Walnuts Yonder's self-titled debut below.

Big Walnuts Yonder:

1. All Against All
2. Sponge Bath
3. Flare Star Phantom
4. I Got Marty Feldman Eyes
5. Raise the Drawbridges?
6. Ready to Pop!
7. Forgot to Brush
8. Rapid Driver Moon Inhaler
9. Pud
10. Heat Melter