Ministry Detail 'From Beer to Eternity,' Reveal New Live DVD and Al Jourgensen Biography

Ministry Detail 'From Beer to Eternity,' Reveal New Live DVD and Al Jourgensen Biography
On-again, off-again industrial vets Ministry are set to call it quits for good with their long in-the-works From Beer to Eternity LP, which we now know will be issued September 6 through 13th Planet.

As previously reported, Jourgensen and collaborators Mike Scaccia (guitar), Sin Quirin (guitar), Tony Campos (bass) and Aaron Rossi (drums) worked on the rough tracks for 18 songs in December at Jourgensen's 13th Planet compound in El Paso, TX. Apparently, the sessions went extremely well, with Jourgensen noting, "We have never, in the history of Ministry, ever had a tracking session like that before. Everything went so smoothly, it was surreal. And Mikey was so on fire and inspired, and really a driving force for this record." 

Three days after the band had completed the sessions, Scaccia tragically died onstage playing with his band Rigor Mortis. Following a funeral in Dallas, Jourgensen and co-producer Sammy D'Ambruoso locked themselves in the studio for three months to put the final touches on the album.

"There was no choice," Jourgensen continued. "During the tracking sessions, Mikey was smiling and going, 'You know what, Al? This is by far and away the best Ministry album we've ever done together. This is awesome.' I'm super proud of From Beer to Eternity because it's my tribute to Mikey's incredible talent, and I feel it honours him and all of the years we spent together making music."

The album starts with the apparently sarcasm-laced "Hail to His Majesty (Peasants)," but also weighs in with thrash-punk riffs ("Punch in the Face") and features a tribute to Scaccia called "Change of Luck." First single "PermaWar" is set to drop in July, ahead of the rest of the LP.

From Beer to Eternity will arrive in a standard 12-song CD, as well as a special limited-edition digipak with13 tracks, a special FanBox edition, and on vinyl in standard and picture disc editions.

Before From Beer to Eternity hits stores, you can pick up a new tell-all autobiography from Jourgensen titled Ministry: The Lost Gospels According to Al Jourgensen. Described as a "memoir both ugly and captivating, revealing Jourgensen as a man who lived a hard life his own way without making compromises," it was co-penned by Jon Wiederhorn and will arrive through Da Capo on July 9.

Additionally, a two-DVD concert set Ministry: Enjoy the Quiet - Live at Wacken 2012 goes up for sale in August when the band make their return to Germany's Wacken Open Air Festival. The DVD chronicles last year's performance, and includes tracks like "New World Order," "99 Percenters," "Ghouldiggers," "Psalm 69," "Thieves," "Just One Fix" and "Khyber Pass."