Mexican Slang Reveal 'Inside the Velvet Castle' for Buzz Records

Mexican Slang Reveal 'Inside the Velvet Castle' for Buzz Records
Toronto punk trio Mexican Slang's Bandcamp page includes a few EPs dating as far back as 2012, but Inside the Velvet Castle is being billed as their "official debut EP." It's due out on July 15 through Buzz Records.

The collection was recorded using a cassette four-track in the band's practice space. According to a press release, the resulting four-song collection is "an amazing blast of psych rock and garage punk, twisted together within infectious melodies that are equal parts rough and deceivingly sweet."

Apparently, it's inspired by singer Annabelle Lee's time in a psychiatric facility. "Each song is written from the perspective of a different patient, struggling with a distinct dilemma," she said in a statement. "The songs are a combination of frantic, schizophrenic, manic episodes between periods of lucidity and sedation. The theme of this album is the collective purging of shame, anger and isolation by these individuals and therefore by me, as each subject's story actually represents a personal thought or experience."

That's the creepy, black-eyed cover artwork above. Scroll past the tracklist below to stream the grungy opening cut "Blisters," which features lo-fi production, jagged guitar freakiness and reverb-drenched harmonies.

Inside the Velvet Castle is available to pre-order on Bandcamp.

Mexican Slang are apparently plotting a full-length album and a North American tour. For now, though, they have a few NXNE dates lined up in Toronto.

Inside the Velvet Castle:

1. Blisters
2. Pink Fog
3. L'Appel Du Vide
4. Halcyon

Tour dates:

06/18 Toronto, ON - Smiling Buddha (NXNE) *

06/21 Toronto, ON - The Great Hall (NXNE) ^

* with Greys, Beta Frontiers
^ with Perfect Pussy, HSY, Weaves