Mastodon Reveal Details for 'Cold Dark Place' EP

Mastodon Reveal Details for 'Cold Dark Place' EP
After the existence of Mastodon's Cold Dark Place was seemingly confirmed earlier this month, the band have now shared the details of their forthcoming release, which turns out to be a new EP, not a full-length album.

The four-track EP will arrive digitally and on CD September 22 through Reprise, while a limited 10-inch picture disc vinyl version will arrive October 27.

Three of the songs — "North Side Star", "Blue Walsh" and "Cold Dark Place" — were recorded with producer Nick Raskulinecz during the band's sessions for 2014 LP Once More 'Round the Sun, while "Toes to Toes" was recorded with Brendan O'Brien during sessions for most recent LP Emperor of Sand.

You can see the tracklist below, where you can also check out a making-of video showing how the cover art above came to be.

Cold Dark Place:

1. North Side Star
2. Blue Walsh
3. Toe to Toes
4. Cold Dark Place