Mary Lattimore Returns with New Album 'Silver Ladders'

The album was produced by Slowdive's Neil Halstead

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jul 15, 2020

Mary Lattimore has shared details of a new solo album. The Los Angeles-based harpist will release Silver Ladders on October 9 through Ghostly International.

Seven tracks in length, Silver Ladders follows Lattimore's 2018 album Hundreds of Days. The album was produced by Slowdive's Neil Halstead, recorded over nine days at his studio stationed on an old airfield.

"A friend introduced us because she knew how big of a fan I was and Neil and I had a little chat...The next day, I just thought maybe he'd be into producing my next record," Lattimore recalled in a press release. "I flew on a little plane to Newquay in Cornwall where he lives with his lovely partner Ingrid and their baby. I didn't know what his studio was like, he'd never recorded a harp, but somehow it really worked."

Album track "Sometimes He's in My Dreams" can be heard below. Last year, Lattimore teamed with Mac McCaughan for the collaborative New Rain Duets and shared a collection of Hundreds of Days remixes.

More recently, she appeared on a new album from Julianna Barwick.

Silver Ladders:

1. Pine Trees
2. Silver Ladders
3. Til A Mermaid Drags You Under
4. Sometimes He's In My Dreams
5. Chop on the Climbout
6. Don't Look
7. Thirty Tulips

Pre-order Silver Ladders.

Latest Coverage