Majical Cloudz Announce Matador Debut 'Impersonator'

Majical Cloudz Announce Matador Debut 'Impersonator'
Montreal-based experimental electronic project Majical Cloudz recently revealed that they had signed on with Matador Records for their next LP, and the band have now delivered the details for the set. Titled Impersonator, it hits retailers May 21.

Described in a press release as featuring "intensely lyrical songs about death, patience, family, friendship, and desire," Impersonator was mostly written by project leader Devon Welsh in the basement of his father's house in rural Ontario. After amassing roughly 20 songs, he trimmed the fat and brought 10 cuts to the LP, including previously released track "Turns Turns Turns."

Stylistically, the set is described as a reaction to lush and expansive production, instead focusing on "quiet looped waves of white noise, filtered synths and sparse thuds."

"In the last few years there's been a massive explosion of amazing music made with computers, samplers and other electronic equipment. The possibilities became nearly endless and musicians indulged those possibilities," Welsh said in a statement. "I love that kind of music but it also started to overwhelm me. I wasn't cut out for the maximalist expressions of that style. So I took a break from music, and when I started again it was to make music that barely existed and felt like stillness more than movement. Where the songs could be more about humanness. I love all forms of electronic music, techno, house, rave, hip-hop, but I never want to feel like the music I'm making is just about stylistic play." 

You can get a taste of what's to come via a stream of first single "Childhood's End," which Welsh says is "a song about friendship, growing up and apart, processing a person's death," in the player beneath the tracklisting.

Prior to Impersonator's release, Majical Cloudz heads out on tour with Youth Lagoon and will play Toronto's Great Hall on May 13.


1. Impersonator 

2. This Is Magic 

3. Childhood's End 

4. I Do Sing For You 

5. Mister 

6. Turns Turns Turns
7. Silver Rings 

8. Illusion 

9. Bugs Don't Buzz 

10. Notebook