Mad Season Treat 'Live at the Moore' to 20th Anniversary Vinyl Release

Mad Season Treat 'Live at the Moore' to 20th Anniversary Vinyl Release
Although the surviving members of grunge supergroup Mad Season have reunited in recent years, their final show with the full lineup — including late singer Layne Staley (Alice in Chains) and late bassist John Baker Saunders (the Walkabouts) — took place on April 29, 1995. And while that show has previously been released as Live at the Moore, it's now set to get its first-ever vinyl pressing in honour of its 20th anniversary. The new vinyl release will arrive on August 28 through Legacy Recordings/Columbia Records.

The concert recording from Seattle's Moore Theatre originally came out back in 1995 on VHS. A CD and DVD were included in 2013's Above box set, when guitarist Mike McCready (Pearl Jam) and drummer Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees) got together to polish off some unfinished tracks.

This new 20th anniversary pressing of Live at the Moore will be split across two 12-inch records, which come housed in a gatefold sleeve. The audio has been remastered, and the package includes new liner notes from Martin. Unlike the original VHS release of Live at the Moore, which was abridged, this includes the full 11-song set. See the tracklist below; it includes a cover of John Lennon's "I Don't Want to Be a Soldier."

Meanwhile, McCready and Martin recently got together in the studio with fill-in bassist Duff McKagan (who has worked with Mad Season in recent years), leading to speculation that new Mad Season material was in the works. Consequence of Sound confirmed, however, that the session was for a McKagan solo album and not a new Mad Season release.

UPDATE: Mad Season will also issue a live album called Mad Season / Seattle Symphony: Sonic Evolution / January 30, 2015 / Benaroya Hall. It will arrive on CD, vinyl and digitally on August 28 and capture the band's reunion show in Seattle. The release will come via Pearl Jam's own Monkeywrench Records, and proceeds will benefit the Seattle Symphony and Vitalogy Foundation.

Live at the Moore:

A1. Wake Up
A2. Lifeless Dead
A3. Artificial Red
B1. River Of Deceit
B2. I Don't Want to Be a Soldier (John Lennon cover)
B3. Long Gone Day
C1. I'm Above
C2. I Don't Know Anything
C3. X-Ray Mind
D1. All Alone
D2. November Hotel

Mad Season - Live at The Moore Theatre, Seattle, WA, USA [Apr. 29, 1995] from Comunidad Alice in Chains Chile on Vimeo.