Mac DeMarco Returns with 'Here Comes the Cowboy' LP

Watch the video for lead single "Nobody"

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Mar 5, 2019

Mac DeMarco has revealed plans for his next studio album. Here Comes the Cowboy will arrive on May 10 via his own aptly titled Mac's Record Label/Royal Mountain Records in Canada.
The album marks DeMarco's fourth album overall and his first since 2017's This Old Dog. The record was made at Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles and features DeMarco playing most of the instruments (apart from keys by Alex Meen). Joe Santarpia shared engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco.
"This one is my cowboy record," DeMarco said in a statement. "Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren't the people I'm referring to."
See the full tracklisting for Here Comes the Cowboy below, and take in the video for lead single "Nobody." The clip was self-directed by DeMarco. That's the album art above.
He's also mapped out an extensive run of upcoming tour dates, including his previously announced Toronto show. See all of those over here.

The album is available to pre-order on vinyl on cassette here.
Here Comes the Cowboy:
1.Here Comes The Cowboy
2. Nobody
3. Finally Alone
4. Little Dogs March
5. Preoccupied
6. Choo Choo
7. K
8. Heart to Heart
9. Hey Cowgirl
10. On the Square
11. All of Our Yesterdays
12. Skyless Moon
13. Baby Bye Bye

Latest Coverage