Lykke Li Sets Release for Wounded Rhymes LP

Lykke Li Sets Release for <i>Wounded Rhymes</i> LP
Earlier this week, Swedish songstress Lykke Li delivered the sensuous video for "Get Some," which found the singer writhing and wriggling to some sexy beats. It seems as if we're "gon' get some" a little sooner than we thought. While her upcoming spring tour hinted that her Youth Novels follow-up could drop sometime in April, the performer has just announced her new album will arrive in March.

Titled Wounded Rhymes, the sophomore set will be released March 1 via her LL Recordings. The album pairs her once again with producer Bjorn Yttling (of Peter Bjorn & John fame).

A press release explains that while the record is now raring to go, Li initially had a heck of a time whipping up some new material following Youth Novel's press cycle.

The release explains, "Lykke Li -- who had spent two solid years touring the world -- felt uneasy, unsure of where to go next. She had found it difficult to write since Youth Novels was released, feeling cramped in backstage quarters, airports, dark hotel rooms. After two manic years of every place, person and pleasure on the planet calling for her attention, as well as a failed romance under her belt, Lykke Li found herself in desperate need for a place to lay her head rather than another stage to fill."

The chanteuse travelled around the world seeking inspiration, finally finding herself in California. A recent interview with Pitchfork explains how Los Angeles found its way into Li's heart.

"I was totally romanticizing the idea of Los Angeles when the Doors, Joni Mitchell and Neil Young were hanging out there," she said. "I was trying to find David Lynch and Leonard Cohen, with no luck. It was just more of a retreat. And Los Angeles is such a mysterious place because there's so much evil in that city, but there's also so much light. You can be totally alone on a hillside and I love that kind of secluded, deserted rawness."

While she may have been reclusive during Wounded Rhymes' writing period, Li is ready to let loose her new collection, as well as her darker, more adult view of the world.

"I was 19 when I recorded my first album, and I've been exposed to many things during these last few years," she said, "all the baby fat is gone. I dove into the craziness and did things that maybe I would think twice about when I get older."

Check out the tracklisting for Wounded Rhymes, as well as that sinisterly sexy clip for "Get Some," below.

Wounded Rhymes:

1. "Youth Knows No Pain"

2. "I Follow Rivers"

3. "Love Out of Lust"

4. "Unrequited Love"

5. "Get Some"

6. "Rich Kid Blues"

7. "Sadness Is a Blessing"

8. "I Know Places"

9. "Ladies Love"

10. "Jerome"

11. "Silent My Song"